News and Announcements

NIH appoints WSU Academy of Scholars member Dr. Renu Kowluru to national advisory council
Dr. Kessel receives lifetime achievement award for work in Photodynamic Therapy
David Kessel, Ph.D., professor of Pharmacology for the Wayne State University School of Medicine, received the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award in Photodynamic Therapy Basic Research from the International Photodynamic Association.
Robert Sedler comments for USA Today about Michigan's EFM law
Academy of Scholars Senior Lecture: Robert Bitmead "The Price of Adaptation in Engineered Systems"
Paula Dore-Duffy to serve on National MS Society's Research Programs Advisory Committee
Boris Mordukhovich receives Doctor Honoris Causa from Babes-Bolyai University
Joyce Benjamins receives Lawrence M. Weiner Award
Charles Lucas wins 2013 Medical Student Senate Alumni Appreciation Award
Robert Sokol helps secure 10-year contract to host and support Perinatology Research Branch of NICHD
Robert Lisak wins Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons' Award for medical research
Michael McIntyre receives President's Award for Excellence in Service
Guy Stern honored by International Society for Exile Studies
Robert Sedler presented with Michigan Lawyer Legacy Award
AoS Plaque updated and redisplayed in UGL
New Member Presentations
Paula Dore-Duffy highlighted for Festival of Trees volunteer work
New Members
This year, the Academy has received a large number of nominations. Currently, the Membership Committee is working hard in the evaluation process; the Committee has solicited external letters of appraisal for each nominee.
Junior Faculty Award
This year, the Academy has received a record number of nominations. The Junior Faculty Award Committee is working diligently in the evaluation process.
Boris Mordukhovich selected as Fellow of AMS
Academy member and past President of the Academy, Professor Boris Mordukhovich, has been selected as one the inaugural class of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society
Bhanu Jena elected to Georgian National Academy of Sciences
Linda Hazlett receives 2012 Alcon Research Award
Bonnie Sloane receives Plenary Lecturer Award
Davide Kessel receives Lifetime Achievement Award